Kitchen Garden

Not sure what I was thinking back in December when I volunteered to do a post on planter gardens. Those who knew my grandfather “Papa” know he was an amazing gardener and he truly loved spending time outdoors in his garden.  Somehow that “Green” gene missed me….or maybe it’s in me and just suppressed by my “Divatude”. Don’t get me wrong, I love fresh fruits and vegetables but I prefer to pick mine up from a local farmers market or grocery store. It must have been all the years of being forced to care for a garden in my younger years. I grew up on a farm and both my parents also loved to garden and we always had a huge garden that required lots of manual labor.

One month into my new home and I had the genius idea that I wanted a nice little planter garden and I would document my journey to creating this little garden of mine (just one of the many BIG ideas I have for my new home). I did lots of research and even found the perfect blueprints for creating a manageable planter box garden and I pinned it, on Pinterest. The only problem is I married a city boy and my country, farm girl ways are long gone. The task of building a planter box and plating my little garden quickly seemed like a huge task and not one I am currently ready to take on.

DSC_0103

Rosemary, Basil, Min

DSC_0108

How stinkin’ cute and PERFECT is that Edible Arrangements mug? And to think I almost did not buy it because it was $1.50 (vs. $0.99 like the other bowls).

DSC_0112

Wooden basket to hold my herbs

But all is not lost! One of my biggest frustrations when grocery shopping is the price I pay for fresh herbs.  Most of the time a recipe calls for just a sprig or two of Rosemary or maybe a few fresh basil leaves. Well, when was the last time you bought a sprig of Rosemary or a few leaves of basil? So you see my dilemma. Wasted herbs and wasted money is not how I roll.  While browsing through my local home improvement store, I noticed my favorite cooking herbs on sale. The price for one plant was what I usually pay for a package of my favorite herbs at the grocery store. The almighty light bulb clicked on in my head and I had my “aha” moment. I decided to pick up the plants on sale and bring them on home to start my very own kitchen herb garden…because that was another cool project I pinned on Pinterest (do you know about Pinterest, really, you should because you will hear me talk about it, a lot). Now this is the type gardening I can manage, no weeds to pull, and no complicated planter box to put together. All I needed was a few cute containers to plant them in and I was set.  Enter my new favorite past time: visiting my local thrift stores. I knew I could pick up some nice containers for a much cheaper price then what my local home improvement store would charge for a little ol’ plain looking pot.

 

 

I lucked up at the thrift store and I could not be happier with the way my new Kitchen Herb Garden.

DSC_0115

Once I find my Thyme, it will go in the middle and make my herb garden complete.

DSC_0121

I found the ceramic dishes at a thrift store too. The olive oil dispenser I picked up at my local T.J. Maxx.

Cost:

Mint – $3.99

Basil – $3.99

Rosemary – $3.99

Wooden Basket (thrifted) – $1.99

White speckled ice cream bowls (thrifted) – $0.99 ea.

Edible Arrangements mug (thrited) – $1.50

Total for kitchen herb garden: $16.45

I have been on the hunt for thyme to add to my herb garden. I can’t wait to cook with my fresh herbs year round. First up Basil Marinated Chicken Thighs.

Do you have any plans for a indoor or outdoor garden this year?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

